Skip to main content
13 Feb 2023

Reis Pride of the Paddock Finalists Revealed

Race Retro
Reis Pride of the Paddock Finalists Revealed
The finalists selected for the Reis Pride of the Paddock competition have been chosen and now it is down to the visitors of Reis Race Retro to decide the overall winner.

The eight owners will display their race and rally cars in the hope that the public will vote their vehicle the Pride of the Paddock.

Mary Singleton, Senior Operations Manager at Reis Motorsport Insurance, said: “Spectators are in for a real treat with the eight entries selected for this year’s final. Each finalist and their car has a fantastic back story to share, and it’s going to be a tough job for attendees to pick a winner!”

The first finalist is Aaron Barrett who has been restoring his 1993 Renault Clio Williams for two years since buying the car and it has become a real family affair. The Clio had been parked up since 2014 with rust setting in so Aaron was going to use it for parts but then decided to bring it back to life.

The restoration was going well until Aaron suffered a serious back injury and the car was untouched for months. A trip to Ireland to watch the Wexford Stages got him motivated again and with the support of his wife, children and his best friend, the car is nearing completion. 

Aaron said: “This car to me now holds a huge sentimental value as it’s helped me on low days with my pain levels. I will continue with the build but I need further back surgery so the chance of competing this year is very slim. The goal is to compete at Wexford as I've spectated there for many years and is a great atmosphere.

Fresh from the Monte Carlo Historique Rally, father and son Simon and Lewis Ayris will be displaying their 1979 Volkswagen Golf GTi. Having been part of a support crew on the ‘Monte’ for more than a dozen times, Simon had always wanted to compete and to have his son beside him was a dream come true!

Derek Webb and his 1967 Ford Cortina GT, built by Tony Maslen as a lightweight Tarmac rally car. Derek has owned the car for five years after competing against it for years with his friend Alan Honess behind the wheel. He won the FIRC Sprint Stage Rally Championship in 2019 as well as first in class in the TBR Historic Rally Belgium and Aarova Historic Belgium.

He will be joined by fellow Ford owner Richard Barber and his 1966 Anglia 105E Deluxe. Richard believes the car was modified to compete in Hillclimbs and Sprints as it will do 0-70mph very quickly.

Finalist Charlie Gabb has turned his Japanese imported 1982 Nissan 240RS Rally Replica into a tribute to the late, great Tony Pond who drove the same car in the 1983 Tour de Corse Rally.

Richard Pinkett’s 1939 MG TB has a fascinating competition history which includes being raced in club events during the 1960s when it was campaigned by Geoff Gillet, founder member of the MG Car Club’s T register.

The winner and runner up will each receive a trophy along with a year’s free private motor insurance from Reis up to the value of £250 (T&C apply). The winner will also be offered the chance to display their car at the entrance of the 2024 show – as well as the obvious bragging rights!

View all show news

Reis Logo

Title Sponsor

Iconic Auctioneers

Auction Partner

Motorsport UK logo

Official Partners

Historic Endurance Rallying Organisation logo

Rallying Group

PGVM logo

Motorsport News Logo


Motorsport Magazine Logo


Lubricants Partner